mether's Fedora Blog

Random thoughts, usually on Fedora

FUDCon Pune 2011 – Day 2 and Day 3

web button

Yes, it has been several days since FUDCon is over but I have been occupied with several things meanwhile including but not limited to Ask Fedora. Leaving experiences about FUDCon unsaid is however not a option.

Day 2

Day 2 started early with Harish Pillay’s keynote on “Thoughts About Community” which was essentially a description of what community architecture team does, their agenda and how they go about doing things, none of which was new to me but hopefully useful to the audience, especially outside of Red Hat. Since it was early on a weekend, there wasn’t much of a crowd. The video among several others was recorded however and is available online if this interests you.

I spend some time wandering between “Security in the Open Source world” talk by Huzaifa Sidhpurwala and Eugene Teo, “Qt Application Development on Embedded Devices” by Suchakra and “RPMFusion: I know you use it” by Ankur Sinha just to make sure the talks were on track and was surprised to see a considerable amount of delegates everywhere.

I attended the “GlusterFS : Hacking-HOWTO” by Amar Tumballi next and it had a lot more audience and it was far more interactive than I expected it to be. Congrats and nicely done on a well prepared talk. Post lunch, I attended “Zarafa in Fedora” by Robert Scheck but walked in late because I was coordinating some other event logistics including media interviews. It was nearing completion at that point but I was curious to get some input on the Fedora infrastructure experiment. Robert has posted his thoughts on the event here. It is very detailed and you should definitely take a look.

I was sitting through “LaTeX: the open source document system for academia” and its followup talk “Beamer: Making presentations the LaTeX way” by Ankur Sinha which were fairly packed sessions. I think the talks went too fast paced and got concluded very early leaving an hour more. I thought it would be interesting to step it and do a “Ask me anything about Fedora and open source” ad-hoc session and that’s exactly what it did. I don’t know whether it was useful to a lot of people but it was fun for me.

I then attended “RPM packaging: make your rpm today” by Ankur Sinha since I thought I might be useful here and also because my talk was in the same room next. I think we need to plan such talks in a lot more detail and engage the (mostly) students audience to find their way to become contributors. I did a quick talk on “Ask Fedora: Community support and knowledge base” which was essentially my marketing pitch for the hackfest session the next day. I listed some of the features I had thought of and hoped people would be interested enough to send in patches.

I think by far the most interesting thing for Day 2 was FUDPub. We make sure all the volunteers, the students of COEP were able to participate and it was fun to watch them enjoy it. It was a pleasant atmosphere and I did what I do best. Sit around and make fun of people!

Day 3

The after effect of FUDPub was that I turned out late for this day. As I was walking out of my flat, I saw Praveen A catching a auto to COEP and joined him. We were discussing about Diaspora on the way and I am very curious to see how it would turn out. I don’t have high hopes for it unfortunately and think it may just fall flat on its feet considering the general lack of enthusiasm for it even among stringent advocates for Free software. Most hackers seem already very active in Google Plus. In any case, a few of us sat and discussed the Ask Fedora roadmap and I guided a few potential contributors to setup askbot on their systems and hopefully some of them will become active contributors soon. Kashyap, Suchakra and several others were running hackfests and we ate some pizza for lunch and had a nice Fedora cake to celebrate the end of FUDCon and Fedora 16 release! It was all very enjoyable.

We had a long lists of firsts in any FUDCon. Live recording and broadcasting of many talks, dedicated infrastructure for event via fudcon.in and so on. On Monday, we had a quick tally of people who attended FUDCon’s and we have well over 500 people and this makes it the largest FUDCon in the world. We are also the largest in number of sessions and we have so far the largest organizing team ever as well but really the most important thing is the outcome of the event. What we wanted to do was be a template for future FUDCon’s around the world and especially inspire APAC contributors to bring FUDCon to their places since FUDCon really is a great way to bring together contributors face to face and put the community front and centre of whatever we do and I do think we have been successful in doing this. I have already shared some experiences with fellow contributors from APAC and hope to help whoever is doing FUDCon next in this region, be it Philippines or Malaysia or China be successful. See you folks around again then!

Written by mether

November 27, 2011 at 2:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

