mether's Fedora Blog

Random thoughts, usually on Fedora

Remixes galore

Sebastian Dziallas released a POSSE Education Fedora Remix today. This follows my own release of a LXDE Fedora Remix. The interesting aspect of remixes is that it can be done by virtually anyone and allows room for a lot of experimentation. Tomorrow, if I wanted to a KDE Fedora Remix with a different set of defaults – let’s say replace Konqueror by Firefox and Koffice by Openoffice.org and distribute it to my friends or put up a public copy for everyone to download, I can do just that without asking anybody or waiting for permission. I can take advantage of all the Fedora work done by a large amount of other developers and distill the work and define it the way I prefer. I don’t have to write the code or even maintain the packages or even be a Fedora contributor at all. Instead I am free to build it, experimental with it and change it just the way I like it. This to me, captures the essence of Free software by removing ownership, control and putting the community first. Fedora has removed the trademark barriers via a secondary Fedora mark for remixes. Bring on the mashups and mixups. Let the fun begin.

The post is brought to you by lekhonee v0.6

Written by mether

July 21, 2009 at 4:23 am

Posted in Uncategorized

